wildlife circle home page copy


Wildlife Circle, Northern Region, Palakkad was constituted vide G.O (MS) No.88/95/F&WLD dated 06.12.1995 with headquarters at Palakkad. The Circle was under the administrative control of Conservator of Forests (Wildlife) till 05.04.2006 and the post of Conservator was upgraded to that of Chief Conservator of Forests from 06.04.2006. Office of the Circle is located at the Aranya Bhavan Complex, Olavakode. The Chief Conservator of Forests (Wildlife) is assisted by Technical Assistant (Assistant Conservator of Forests), Deputy Director (Wildlife Education) and a team of Ministerial staff in the headquarters.  

At present the Circle covers an area of 1494.11 Sq. km with seven protected areas in five wildlife divisions, viz., Aralam, Wayanad, Silent Valley, Parambikulam and Peechi wildlife divisions.    Protected areas under the Circle are Aralam Wildlife Sanctuary, Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary, Silent Valley National Park, Parambikulam Tiger Reserve (Wildlife Sanctuary), Peechi-Vazhani Wildlife Sanctuary, Chimmony Wildlife Sanctuary and Chulannur Peafowl Sanctuary.

News& Events
Related Links